This page was translated automatically. The City of Innsbruck assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of the translation.

The name Wilten is derived from Veldidena. This was the name of the fortress settlement built in the 3rd century along the Roman road Via Claudia Augusta Altinate to house and winter Roman soldiers. In the 12th century, a first Premonstratensian community settled there, which in a short time acquired a lot of land through donations. Until the exchange treaty with the Andechsers in 1180 and the resulting founding of the town, the entire area between today's Wilten and the Inn belonged to the Premonstratensians, after which the border was where the Triumphpforte stands today until the incorporation. A boundary stone at the building of the Golden Crown, at the corner of Maximilianstraße and Maria-Theresien-Straße reminds of this. In addition to the mighty 17th-century monastery building and the late Baroque basilica designed by the Tyrolean master builder and priest Franz de Paula Penz, the Leuthaus, originally built as a pilgrims' hospice, is structurally outstanding and is considered the largest originally preserved secular Gothic building in Tyrol. Not to forget Innsbruck's modern landmark: the Bergisel ski jump built according to plans by star architect Zaha Hadid.

The center of Wilten is the reactivated Wiltener Platzl, which with its charming cafés, eateries and stores ensures lasting revival.